Officers and Regents election results announced

The election of Officers and Regents has been completed, and terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting and Town Hall at Internal Medicine Meeting 2023 in San Diego.

The election of Officers and Regents has been completed. Terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting and Town Hall scheduled to take place on Saturday, April 29, 2023, from 12:45 to 1:45 p.m. PDT in San Diego. If you have any questions regarding the election, please contact Lauren Cruz at

2023-2024 Chair-elect, Board of Regents

William E. Fox, MD, FACP, Charlottesville, Va.

Dr Fox
Dr. Fox

Present position: Fox & Brantley Internal Medicine, Charlottesville, Va.

ACP activities: Member, Medical Practice and Quality Committee, 2010-2014, Vice-chair, 2017-2019, Chair, 2021-present; Member, American Medical Association RUC, 2012-2016, 2019; Member, Coding and Payment Policy Subcommittee, 2014-2017; Governor-elect, Virginia Chapter, 2015-2016; Governor, Virginia Chapter, 2016-2020; Member, Executive Committee, Board of Governors, 2018-2020; Chair-elect, Board of Governors, 2019-2020; Member, Board of Regents, 2019-2020; Member, Governance Committee, 2019-2020; Vice-chair, Financial Policy and Audit Committee, 2019-2020; Member, Committee Appointments Subcommittee, 2019-2021; Chair, Board of Governors, 2020-2021; Chair, Executive Committee, Board of Governors, 2020-2021; Member, Financial Policy and Audit Committee, 2020-2021; Member, Independent Practice Advisory Group, 2020-2021; Member, American Medical Association House of Delegates, 2020-Present; Member, Board of Regents, 2021-present; Member, Mastership Committee, 2022-present.

ACP Fellowship: 2004.

Medical school: University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, 1994.

Residency: Internal medicine, University of Virginia Health Sciences Center, Charlottesville, Va., 1994-1997.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1997, 2017. Participating in Maintenance of Certification.

New Regents elected with terms to expire in 2025

Charlene M. Dewey, MD, MACP, Nashville, Tenn.

Dr Dewey
Dr. Dewey

Present positions: Professor of medical education and administration; professor of medicine and public health; director, Educator Development Core and Educator Development Program; director, Center for Professional Health; attending physician, Vanderbilt University Hospital, Nashville, Tenn.

ACP activities: Member, Physician Well-Being and Professional Fulfillment Committee, 2017-2021; Member, Education Committee, 2019-2021.

ACP Fellowship: 2000.

ACP Mastership: 2018.

Medical school: Morehouse School of Medicine, Atlanta, 1990.

Residency: Internal medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, N.Y., 1990-1993.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1996, 2006, 2016. Participating in Maintenance of Certification.

David R. Hilden, MD, MPH, FACP, Minneapolis

Dr Hilden
Dr. Hilden

Present positions: Internal medicine physician in primary care and hospital medicine, senior advocacy and policy consultant, podcast host, Hennepin Healthcare; professor, University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis.

ACP activities: Governor-elect, Minnesota Chapter, 2018-2019; Governor, Minnesota Chapter, 2019-present; Member, American College of Cardiology LDL & Beyond Roundtable, 2019; Member, Health and Public Policy Committee, 2019-2020, Vice-chair, 2020-present.

ACP Fellowship: 2006.

Medical school: University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis, 2000.

Residency: Internal medicine, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, 2001-2003.

Certification: Internal medicine, 2003, 2013. Participating in Maintenance of Certification.

President-elect and incumbent Regents

In addition to the 2023-2024 Chair-elect of the Board of Regents and new Regents, the President-elect and incumbent Regents have also been elected. The profiles of these individuals appeared previously in the November/December 2022 ACP Internist. They are as follows:

2023-2024 President-elect

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, MACP, Baltimore

Incumbent Regents

Jan K. Carney, MD, MACP, Burlington, Vt.

Elisa I. Choi, MD, FACP, Boston

Charles J. Hamori, MD, FACP, La Mesa, Calif.

Marianne C. Parshley, MD, FACP, Portland, Ore.