Officer, Treasurer and Regent election results announced

Meet the incoming Chair-elect of the Board of Regents, the new Treasurer and new Regents who will be confirmed at Internal Medicine 2013.

The election of Officers, Treasurer and Regents has been completed. Terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting at Internal Medicine 2013 in San Francisco. If you have any questions regarding the election, please contact Florence Moore.

2013-2014 Chair-elect, Board of Regents

Robert M. Centor, MD, FACP, Huntsville, Ala.

Dr Centor
Dr. Centor

Medical school: Medical College of Virginia, 1971-1975.

Residency: Medical College of Virginia.

Fellowship: University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas (renal), 1978-1979. Chief Medical Resident, Medical College of Virginia, 1980-1981.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1978.

ACP Fellowship: 1985.

Present position: Professor, division of general internal medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, Ala.; regional dean and executive director, University of Alabama School of Medicine, Huntsville Regional Medical Campus, Huntsville, Ala.

Current patient care activities: 30%.

Current activities in administration, research and teaching: Administration, 30%; teaching, 30%; research, 10%.

ACP activities: Member, 1978-present; Scientific Program Committee, Virginia Regional Meeting, 1986; Medical Informatics Committee, 1990-1994; MKSAP Planning Committee (liaison from Medical Informatics Committee), 1990-1994; Board of Regents, 2008-present; Membership Committee, 2008-2010 (chair, 2009-2010); Health & Public Policy Committee, 2009-present (chair, 2011-present); Finance Committee, 2009-2011; Strategic Planning Committee, 2009-2010; Strategic Planning Retreat Planning Committee, 2010-2012.

New Regents elected with a term to expire in 2015

Ana Maria López, MD, MPH, FACP, Tucson, Ariz.

Dr Lopez
Dr. López

Medical school: Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University, 1988.

Residency: University of Arizona, 1991 (chief resident, 1992).

Fellowship: University of Arizona (general medicine, medical oncology, NIH cancer prevention and etiology).

Certification: Internal medicine, 1993.

ACP Fellowship: 1999.

Present position: Associate dean, outreach and multicultural affairs; professor of medicine and pathology; medical director, Arizona Telemedicine Program, University of Arizona College of Medicine, Tucson, Ariz.

Current patient care activities: Medical oncology/women's cancer, 25%.

Current activities in administration, research and teaching: Administration, 30%; research, 30%; teaching, 15%.

ACP activities: ACP Foundation Programs Committee, 2012; Women Physicians, Young Physicians, Volunteerism Networking Mentor, Internal Medicine 2011-2012; ACP Arizona Chapter John Tooker Evergreen Award Winner, 2012; Chapter Development Fund: The 3 Rs: Retirement, Contribution and Reengagement, 2012; Chapter Development Fund: Fellows in Training Committee: Education by Simulation, 2011; Executive Committee of the Board of Governors (elected by Board of Governors, Class of 2013, 2011-2012); ACP Foundation Board, 2011; ACPNet Steering Committee, 2011-present; Chapter Development Fund: Young Physicians Committee: Adelante! Education Series, 2010; Ethics, Professionalism and Human Rights Committee, 2010 (vice-chair); ACP Top Ten Key Contacts of the Year, 2010; Pri-Med Governor's Advisory Group, 2010-present; Credentials Technical Advisory Committee, 2010-2011; ACP Arizona Chapter John Tooker Evergreen Award, Honorable Mention, 2010; Reference Committee, Board of Governors spring meeting, 2010 (chair); Reference Committee, Board of Governors fall meeting, 2009; Chapter Development Fund: Advocacy Committee: Dr.'s Day (State Legislative Day), 2009; Governor, Arizona Chapter, 2009-2012; Governor-elect, Arizona Chapter, 2008-2009.

Robert M. McLean, MD, FACP, New Haven, Conn.

Dr McLean
Dr. McLean

Medical school: University of Maryland School of Medicine, 1984-1988.

Residency: Yale-New Haven Hospital, 1988-1991 (chief resident, Yale Primary Care Residency Program, 1991-1992).

Fellowship: Yale School of Medicine (rheumatology), 1992-1994.

Present position: Private practice, Connecticut Medical Group, LLC, 1994-2012; Northeast Medical Group with the Yale-New Haven Health System, 2012-present; associate clinical professor, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, Conn.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1992 (recertified 2002, 2012); rheumatology, 1994 (recertified 2004).

ACP Fellowship: 1998.

Current patient care activities: General internal medicine, 50%; rheumatology, 50%.

Current activities in administration, research and teaching: Administration, 0%; teaching, 5%; research, 0%.

ACP activities: Governor, Connecticut Chapter, 2009-present; Board of Governors Executive Committee, 2009-2010; Chapter-ACP Relations Board of Governors Working Group, summer 2009; EVP/CEO Search Committee, 2010; Health & Public Policy Committee, 2003-2012 (at-large member, 2003-2008; BOG member, 2009-2012; vice-chair, 2010-2012); Membership Committee, 2011-present; Leadership Day Attendee, 2007-2012; Key Contact of the Year, 2007; ACP Services PAC Board of Directors, 2010-present (secretary, 2011-present); Young Physician Mentor, Internal Medicine 2009-2012; ACP Presentation to American College of Rheumatology Board of Directors, “ACP and ACR-Opportunities for Collaboration,” May 2012.

Jack Ende, MD, MACP, Philadelphia

Dr Ende
Dr. Ende

Medical school: Medical College of Virginia, 1969-1973.

Residency: University of Chicago, 1973-1976 (chief resident, 1977-1978).

Certification: Internal medicine, 1976.

ACP Fellowship: 1990.

ACP Mastership: 2009.

Present position: Chief of medicine, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Philadelphia.

Current patient care activities: Outpatient general internal medicine practice, 30%; inpatient hospital practice (teaching attending), 15%.

Current activities in administration, research and teaching: Administration (chief of medicine), 35%; teaching, 20%.

ACP activities: MKSAP XII-XVI associate editor, 1997-present; ACP Scientific Program Planning Committee, 2007 (chair); faculty for ACP SEP-Based Learning Sessions, 2007; ACP Education Committee, 2007-2009; ACP Search Committee for editor of Annals of Internal Medicine, 2008 (vice-chair); speaker, “Update in General Internal Medicine” Internal Medicine 2008-2010; ACP Publications Committee, 2009-2011; editor, “Teaching Medicine,” a six-book series on medical education and teaching published by ACP Press, 2011.

Previously elected officers and Regents

In addition to the 2013-2014 Chair-elect and new Regents, the President-elect, Treasurer and Incumbent Regents have also been elected. The profiles of these individuals appeared previously in the November 2012 ACP Internist. They are as follows:

2013-2014 President-elect

David A. Fleming, MD, MA, FACP, Columbia, Mo.

2013-2016 Treasurer

Robert A. Gluckman, MD, FACP, Beaverton, Ore.

Incumbent Regents

Nitin S. Damle, MD, MS, FACP, Wakefield, R.I.

Kelley M. Skeff, MD, PhD, MACP, Stanford, Calif.

Thomas G. Tape, MD, FACP, Omaha, Neb.