White House lauds ACP Master for work on AIDS

What's new from other areas of The College's Medical Knowledge and Education offerings.

Anthony S. Fauci, MACP, received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civil award, in recognition of his efforts to advance understanding and treatment of HIV/AIDS. The medal, awarded in a White House ceremony on June 19, is given to those who contribute to U.S. security or national interests, world peace or cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

Anthony S Fauci MACP
Anthony S. Fauci, MACP

Dr. Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), has made many contributions to the understanding and treatment of immune-mediated and infectious diseases, and he oversees an extensive research portfolio of basic and applied research to prevent, diagnose and treat such conditions. Dr. Fauci has studied HIV/AIDS and treated HIV-infected patients since the early days of the pandemic. As a key White House advisor on AIDS, he was a leading architect of the U.S. President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.

Chapter Awardees

Chapters honor Members, Fellows and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research or service to their community, their chapter and ACP. Awardees are physicians with a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in April, May, and June, 2008:

Alabama Dennis G. Delgado, FACP, Birmingham, Laureate Award Billy Willard Boyd, FACP, Montgomery, Laureate Award William A. Curry, FACP, Birmingham, Chapter Advocacy Award

Atlantic Provinces Mahesh Raju, FACP, Saint John, NB, Laureate Award

Japan Hiroyuki Ide, ACP Member, Kamakura Kanagawa, Volunteerism & Community Service Award

Rhode Island Edward A. Iannuccilli, FACP, Bristol, Irving Addison Beck Award Kenneth H. Mayer, FACP, Providence, Milton Hamolsky Lifetime Achievement Award Michael B. Macko, ACP Member, Providence, Governor's Award

Venezuela Jose E. Moros, FACP, Barquisimeto Lara, Laureate Award Eduardo Morales, FACP, Miami, Volunteerism & Community Service Award

Wyoming Robert J. Davis, II, FACP, Cheyenne, Laureate Award